World Tree

2022-09-19 notes and recommendations

I grabbed old speakers from behind a side table today and they make a great difference how I enjoy any multimedia consumption.They are Insignia brand and were given to me last year I think. This helps me use the handset device less, and use a free software system more.

I will be slowly working on a list of recommendations of operating systems and variants of them. So far, I've considered the following for users who are a little more experienced:

OpenBSD
Artix GNU/Linux
Void GNU/Linux
Slackware GNU/Lunux

It's possible that the last 3 could be braved by a new user, if they were willing to just learn a little bit involved in the installation process that a typical new user wouldn't know. This could only be the case with Artix or Void, if an image with a graphical installer were used.

Something great on OpenBSD is the default setting of blanking the camera, and having input from microphones disabled. This is a great little security touch on top of all of OpenBSD's hardened security.